Emmy Talk With JWalk: Supporting Actress in a Limited Series or TV Movie Emmy Predictions

0c58c1ae-3787-4b9e-9310-d8a7f5dc9f5d-21724-000009fb8477f8a0

It’s really difficult to predict an Emmys category where there’s only six slots available and one of the biggest limited series of the year have five Emmy winning or nominated actresses vying for a nomination. That aforementioned limited series is Mrs. America, and those actresses in contention in this category are Margo Martindale, Tracey Ullman, Sarah Paulson, Rose Byrne and Uzo Aduba.

Full disclosure – I didn’t watch Mrs. America. With everything going on in the political climate right now, I just couldn’t endure a political-driven limited series. That being said, I can’t accurately predict this category they way I’d like with so many actresses in contention from Mrs. America. However, I did enlist some good friends to help me with my predictions. I consulted with Ryan C. Showers (@rcs818) and Logan Wagner (@tuffcontender), and they both advised me to predict Margo Martindale, Sarah Paulson and Rose Byrne as Mrs. America nominees. I trust their judgement since they’ve seen it and I haven’t. “It all depends on how much they loved Mrs. America. We are all making the assumption that they love it, that category is very stacked this year” Logan told me. He’s right! We are assuming Emmy voters are going to love Mrs. America, but how can we be so sure about that?

Beyond Mrs. America, we have Ryan Murphy’s Netflix limited series Hollywood, with Patti Lupone and Holland Taylor looking really good to me in earning nominations. Hollywood wasn’t my favorite limited series this year, but the Emmys love Ryan Murphy, and they love his actresses! Between 2012 and 2018, 17 actresses have been nominated from Ryan Murphy’s limited series or TV movies in this category, 40 actresses were nominated in this category altogether. In a 6 year period, Murphy has contributed 42.5% of the nominees in this category – the most nominations coming in 2014 when he landed four actresses in this category: Angela Bassett, Frances Conroy and Kathy Bates for American Horror Story: Coven and Julia Roberts for The Normal Heart. What that tells me is that we shouldn’t bet against Ryan Murphy or his performers. I’m going against the common knowledge that it’s expected voters are going to drool all over Mrs. America and oversaturate this category. I’m predicting Lupone for sure, and Holland as the major spoiler in this category! Maybe we’ll get lucky with an unexpected seven nominations?

My other frontrunner locks are Rosie O’Donnell (I Know This Much Is True), Toni Collette (Unbelievable), Jean Smart (Watchman) and Allison Janney (Bad Education).

My frontrunners for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Limited Series or TV Movie:

  • Sarah Paulson – Mrs. America
  • Toni Collette – Unbelievable
  • Jean Smart – Watchmen
  • Allison Janney – Bad Education
  • Patti Lupone – Hollywood
  • Rosie O’Donnell – I Know This Much Is True

Major threats for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Limited Series or TV Movie:

  • Holland Taylor – Hollywood
  • Uzo Aduba – Mrs. America
  • Rose Byrne – Mrs. America
  • Margo Martindale – Mrs. America
  • Tracey Ullman – Mrs. America
  • Viola Davis – Troop Zero

Follow me on Twitter @TVTalkWithJWalk

 

img_1326

1 Comment

Leave a comment