Emmy Talk With JWalk: Lead Actor in a Limited Series or TV Movie Emmys Predictions

0c58c1ae-3787-4b9e-9310-d8a7f5dc9f5d-21724-000009fb8477f8a0

The Outstanding Lead Actor in a Limited Series or TV Movie category had some great performances this year that I thoroughly enjoyed. Off the bat, I’d safely assume Mark Ruffalo (I Know This Much Is True) and Hugh Jackman (Bad Education) are the clearest of the frontrunners this Emmy cycle, with two of the most acclaimed performances on television this year.

Further predicting this category of five actors, I’d make the safe bet that Aaron Paul is a lock for El Camino: A Breaking Bad Movie, a role that he won three Emmys for in 2010, 2012 and 2014 – how could not be a predicted frontrunner? The last two slots are anyone’s guess. Personally, I’m thinking Chris Evans will earn his first Emmy nomination for Defending Jacob, and it’s expected Watchmen to make a huge showing at the Emmys this year, so Jeremy Irons earning a nomination makes complete sense.

I would be overjoyed if Paul Mescal snuck in and earned a nomination for Hulu’s Normal People, same goes for Matthew Macfayden for AMC’s Quiz. Jeremy Pope (Hollywood) and Russell Crowe (The Loudest Voice) could also pop up here, but are lower on my predictions list.

My frontrunners for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Limited Series or TV Movie:

  • Hugh Jackman – Bad Education
  • Mark Ruffalo – I Know This Much Is True
  • Aaron Paul – El Camino: A Breaking Bad Movie
  • Jeremy Irons – Watchman
  • Chris Evans – Defending Jacob

My threats for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Limited Series or TV Movie:

  • Paul Mescal – Normal People
  • Matthew Macfayden – Quiz
  • Russell Crowe – The Loudest Voice
  • Jeremy Pope – Hollywood

Follow me on Twitter @TVTalkWithJWalk

1 Comment

Leave a comment